About

I am a resident of Long Island, NY, in the suburbs of NYC.   Originally from New Jersey, I worked for many years as a Member of Technical Staff at Bell Laboratories.  I’m now retired though there are days when I wish I was still employed.  Fortunately, computers and the Internet are affordable luxuries that at least keep my mind occupied.

I have a BS degree in Industrial Engineering/Operations Research from Cornell University in Ithaca, NY and an MSE degree in Computer, Information and Control Engineering from University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, Michigan.  I enjoy software development and have worked with a wide variety of programming languages and operating systems over the years.  I’ve become a fan of the Python programming language and have been exploring it lately.

I’ve been married, twice.   My first marriage lasted for nearly 20 years and resulted in 2 children, a son and a daughter, but alas, that marriage ended in divorce.  My second marriage was shorter, ending with my wife succumbing to a heart attack while sleeping at home in her bed with the TV on her favorite channel.  Well, the promise was “til death do us part” and now it has so I’m single again.  My kids, of course, are grow-up college graduates who have long since established lives of their own.

I love to hear from people and can be reached by e-mail at drewlist *NOSPAM* gmail.com. I’m assuming that you can figure out how to fix that up to be a valid e-mail address, but am hoping that bots looking to harvest e-mail addresses for spam targeting won’t be so clever.   I welcome comments on my blog articles, so if you disagree or spot a mistake I’ve made, please let me know in a comment.  I’m also very interested in hearing what brought you to my blog.  A bit distressing to post an article and find it gets close to zero readers…  And if you enjoyed something you’ve read on the blog, do feel free to re-share the link with anyone you know who might also be interested.

Advertisements